India’s States and Capitals List 2017

India is a vast country which is located on the Asia continent. This country is the seventh largest country by its area in total. Officially India is also known as Republic of India which got independent on the date of 15th August 1947. New Delhi is the National Capital Region (NCR) of India. All the headquarters and main Government official units are present in New Delhi. So this topic is all about India’s States and Capitals list. As we all know that the National Anthem of our country India is Jana Gana mana which is such a wonderful Anthem till now. This country consists of all the religions of peoples like Hindu, Muslim, Jain, Christians, Buddhist, etc. and much more.States and Capitals list

Till today our country has total 29 numbers of states and 7 Union Territories. All the states are governed by the Government of India. Besides that, there are many places of interest situated for catching the eyes of tourists. Among them, some of the best places are Agra for TajMahal, Amritsar for Golden Temple, Gandhinagar for Sabarmati Ashram, Howrah for Howrah Bridge etc. and much more like this. Let us have a look at the region-wise India States and Capitals in the list below.

India’s States and Capitals List:

Our country India consists of the six regions mainly or primarily. They are East, West, North and South, Central and North Eastern region of India. Now we are going to list out the total number of India’s 29 States and Capitals with 7 Union Territories below.

Name of the States                                                         Name of the Capital Cities

  1. Andhra Pradesh                                                                              Hyderabad
  2. Arunachal Pradesh                                                                         Itanagar
  3. Assam                                                                                               Dispur
  4. Bihar                                                                                                 Patna
  5. Chhattisgarh                                                                                   Raipur
  6. Goa                                                                                                   Panaji
  7. Gujarat                                                                                             Gandhinagar
  8. Haryana                                                                                           Chandigarh
  9. Himachal Pradesh                                                                          Shimla
  10. Jammu & Kashmir                                                                          Srinagar (Winter – Jammu)
  11. Jharkhand                                                                                        Ranchi
  12. Karnataka                                                                                        Bangaluru
  13. Kerala                                                                                               Thiruvananthapuram
  14. Madhya Pradesh                                                                             Bhopal
  15. Maharashtra                                                                                    Mumbai
  16. Manipur                                                                                           Imphal
  17. Meghalaya                                                                                       Shillong
  18. Mizoram                                                                                          Aizawl
  19. Nagaland                                                                                         Kohima
  20. Orissa                                                                                              Bhubaneswar
  21. Punjab                                                                                             Chandigarh
  22. Rajasthan                                                                                        Jaipur
  23. Sikkim                                                                                             Gangtok
  24. Tamil Nadu                                                                                    Chennai
  25. Telangana                                                                                      Hyderabad
  26. Tripura                                                                                           Agartala
  27. Uttar Pradesh                                                                               Lucknow
  28. Uttarakhand                                                                                 Dehradun
  29. West Bengal                                                                                  Kolkata

Name of the Union Territories                 Name of the National Capital Territories

  1. Delhi (National Capital Region of Delhi or NCR)                      New Delhi
  2. Andaman & Nicobar Islands                                                        Port Blair
  3. Chandigarh                                                                                    Chandigarh
  4. Dadra & Nagar Haveli                                                                   Silvassa
  5. Daman & Diu                                                                                 Daman
  6. Lakshadweep                                                                                Kavaratti
  7. Puducherry                                                                                   Puducherry

That’s all about India’s States and Capitals list with all the Union Territories.  Go through the list given above to perfectly know about every states and capital of India. This is a type of general awareness about India which every Indian should need to know always. In every state of India, there are many temples, palaces, zoos, historical monuments and many more things are there to visit. Hope you all are satisfied with the information which we have provided here about India’s states and capitals.

Try This: Nobel Prize Winner 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *